RSS

RSSAll Entries in the "Spotlight" Category

KAKU JOINS ‘CBS THIS MORNING’ TO DISCUSS UNUSUAL SURGE IN EARTHQUAKE ACTIVITY

Click to Watch Video

Click to Visit CBS This Morning

A recent unusual surge in global seismic activity has given rise to a so-called ‘Swarm of Earthquakes’ hitting concentrated regions of the continental United States by the dozen. Residents in affected areas are notably rattled as officials formulate appropriate responses. CBS News Contributor, Dr. Michio Kaku joined ‘CBS This Morning’ hosts, Charlie Rose, Gayle King, and Norah O’Donnell, on Friday to explain the science behind the mysterious seismic surge. This one ends on a laugh. WATCH NOW!

Share

KAKU VISITS MSNBC’s ‘THE ED SHOW’

Click to Watch Video

Click to Visit MSNBCScientists have identified eight distinct planetary objects beyond our own solar system, each exhibiting earth-like qualities considered essential to supporting and sustaining intelligent life. Dr. Michio Kaku recently joined Ed Schultz, host of MSNBC’s ‘The Ed Show’ to explore the exciting possibilities of life out in the stars beyond Earth. WATCH NOW! and stay tuned for more…

READY FOR MORE? – JANUARY 14, 2015 UPDATE

Click to Watch VideoSee Dr. Kaku’s return visit to ‘The Ed Show’ as he discusses recent political developments bound to affect NASA and future U.S. space policy. WATCH NOW!

Share

KAKU ON HYDROGEN FUTURE AT 2015 CES

KAKU OPENS HISTORIC GLOBAL ANNOUNCEMENT FROM TOYOTA
Click to Watch KAKU Video

international-ces-logo-200At the 2015 International Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas, Nevada, Dr. Michio Kaku opened TOYOTA’s press conference, providing his take on the potential of a hydrogen society.

Click to Watch TOYOTA Video
Dr. Kaku is a longtime proponent of hydrogen and, in particular, hydrogen fuel cells as a key means to serve the world’s global energy needs and propel society to a more earth-friendly future.

See Dr. Kaku’s Official Twitter for more information and developments.
Share

KAKU VISITS CNN ‘QUEST MEANS BUSINESS’

Click to Watch Video

Click to Visit CNN

When Richard Quest, host of CNN’s ‘Quest Means Business’ invited Dr. Michio Kaku to appear on his show to share his visions of the future, Dr. Kaku was happy to oblige. Touching on subjects that leap from the pages of his latest New York Times Bestseller, THE FUTURE OF THE MIND, Kaku and Quest explore the spectrum of breakthrough ideas and inventions on the horizon, from augmented reality to augmented physiology.

WATCH NOW! and stay tuned for another installment in January 2015.

Share

KAKU ON THE SCIENCE OF ‘EXODUS’

Click to Watch Video

EXODUS: Gods and Kings, the star-studded biblically-inspired epic film from director, Ridley Scott, opens in theaters today and it’s already making waves.

Speaking of waves, CBS invited Dr. Michio Kaku to offer his assessment, as a theoretical physicist, on the feasibility of parting the waters of the Red Sea, as Moses did in the famous bible story on which the motion picture is based. Can it be done relying only on science, without the aid of divine intervention? CBSN poses the question, "Could Moses really part the Red Sea?" WATCH NOW!

After you’ve parted the waters of EXODUS, travel through a cosmic wormhole in Dr. Kaku’s review (also on CBSN) of the hit sci-fi thriller, INTERSTELLAR.

cbsn-logoSee Dr. Kaku on CBSN, the online news network from CBS.
Share

KAKU WRITES FOR VARIETY SPECIAL FEATURE

INTERSTELLAR

CONTENDERS Awards Season Special Section

VARIETYWriters On Writers Special FeatureINTERSTELLAR, the inter-dimensional sci-fi blockbuster movie from acclaimed director, Christopher Nolan, continues to wow audiences and critics alike with mind-bending sights and sounds at the forefront of science and storytelling.

Recently, the feature editors at VARIETY, the premiere Hollywood publication, respected throughout the world of show business professionals since 1905, asked Dr. Michio Kaku to contribute to their annual CONTENDERS Series in a special feature called CONTENDERS: WRITERS ON WRITERS.

Dr. Kaku shares his insights and impressions, not just as a physicist and futurist, but also as an avid moviegoer and bona fide fanatic of science fiction. The special feature is ONLINE NOW and hits print at newsstands this week.

Ready for more outer-worldly adventures?

Fly through the wormhole with this recent video post featuring Dr. Kaku on the SCIENCE OF INTERSTELLAR and a detailed paper that delves still deeper into the mighty mysterious realms of interstellar travel.

Share

KAKU JOINS NEW JERSEY HISTORIC EVENTS

NJCU Liberty Center IMAX Dome

Michio Kaku Illustration by GardnerCelebrating the 350th Anniversary of the founding of New Jersey, world-acclaimed theoretical physicist and best-selling author, Dr. Michio Kaku will speak at Liberty Science Center on Tuesday, December 9th, 2014 at 6:30 PM EST.

Dr. Kaku’s special public appearance, speaking on the subject of Innovation, is the second installment in a three-part inaugural lecture series, entitled Presidential Speaker Series, launched by New Jersey City University (NJCU), to explore the NJ350 themes of Liberty, Innovation, and Diversity.

NJCU"What better way to celebrate New Jersey’s 350th birthday than to invite everyone to join us for three unforgettable evenings that bring to our community luminaries who share their thoughts on liberty, innovation, and diversity? – three building blocks that have defined our state from its earliest days," said Dr. Sue Henderson, NJCU president and host of the series.Liberty Science Center

Founded in 1664, New Jersey‘s rich heritage spans well beyond the establishment of the United States, as one of the nation’s original thirteen colonies. From Thomas Edison to Bruce Springsteen, New Jersey’s innovations and innovators have had an impact throughout the world.

For more information about the NJCU Presidential Speakers Series or associated NJ350 events, call 201-200-3196 or visit the NJCU website.

Share

KAKU ON THE SCIENCE OF ‘INTERSTELLAR’

Click to Watch Video

INTERSTELLAR has been called one of the most realistic space films ever made. As a CBS News Contributor, Dr. Michio Kaku was recently asked to give his own informed perspective, as a theoretical physicist, assessing how good a job the filmmakers did at the task of aligning their ambitious work of science fiction with the expanding forefront of science fact. WATCH NOW!

For more of Dr. Kaku’s thoughts and observations about The Physics of Interstellar Travel, read this aptly-named classic paper by the man himself.

cbsn-logoSee Dr. Kaku on CBSN, the online news network from CBS.
Share

KAKU BOOK: IT MAKES A GREAT GIFT!

Dr. Kaku signs copies of his latest book for a crowd of fans at a recent book fair.

Dr. Kaku’s latest bestselling book, THE FUTURE OF THE MIND, continues to be a blockbuster hit. Every book signing event has attracted enormous crowds of Kaku fans, a unique and growing group of wonderful people spanning all ages and walks of life. A wonder for science and an enthusiasm about the future unifies this amazing cross-section of the world that might not come together any other way. Dr. Kaku thanks you for showing up and making this launch such a resounding success.

More About THE FUTURE OF THE MINDAre YOU a Kaku fan? Help spread the word, expand the Kaku fan base online and off. Help to make THE FUTURE OF THE MIND Dr. Kaku’s most successful book ever. If you haven’t picked up your own copy, please BUY IT NOW. Better yet, please pick up some extra copies to give to your loved ones and work associates. Not only does it make a great gift for anyone and everyone — your generosity will make the world a better place.

Share

USA SCIENCE & ENGINEERING FESTIVAL 2014

Click for More Details

Dr. Michio Kaku is a proud participant in the upcoming 3RD ANNUAL USA SCIENCE & ENGINEERING FESTIVAL taking place on April 26th and 27th, 2014 at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, DC.

The FREE festival is analogous to an art, music, or food festival, but with a focus on science and engineering. There will be over 3,000 hands-on activities and over 150 stage shows. The event is also a resource for information about scholarships, internships, jobs, and taking part in science’s new frontiers.

"As a culture, we celebrate actors, pop stars and athletes… and we generate a lot of them. Our mission here is to celebrate science and engineering by producing and presenting the most compelling, exciting, educational, and entertaining science festival in the United States," said Larry Bock, USASEF Founder.

Dr. Kaku will speak to a live audience on the EINSTEIN STAGE at 4 PM on Saturday, April 26th, 2014. Following the speaking event, at 5 PM, Dr. Kaku will meet and greet fans at an official booksigning at TABLE #4 of the festival’s on-site book fair. Dr. Kaku will be signing copies of his latest New York Times Bestseller, THE FUTURE OF THE MIND.

Want more? Watch this awareness video for the festival and this preview video about Dr. Kaku’s appearance. For more event details, simply click here.

Share

APPLE iTUNES LIVE FACEBOOK EVENT

Click for Facebook Q&A with Michio Kaku

Click for details of Future of the Mind iBookJoin us on Monday, April 7, 2014 at 8PM EST (5PM PST) for a live Q&A with Dr. Michio Kaku at Apple’s iTunes Facebook page. You will also find related links on Dr. Kaku’s Facebook page. He will be answering questions about his new book, THE FUTURE OF THE MIND.

Click for details of Future of the Mind iTunes AudiobookA New York Times Bestseller, taking the #1 spot in March, the book is now available as a digital download in audiobook format at Apple iTunes and as an ebook at Apple iBooks.

The audiobook edition of THE FUTURE OF THE MIND is completely unabridged and features audio of the entire introduction read by Dr. Kaku himself followed by the narration of award-winning voice artist, Feodor Chin, a veteran of Michio Kaku audiobooks.

Don’t miss this opportunity to chat online live with Dr. Kaku directly!

Share

THE DAILY SHOW WELCOMES MICHIO KAKU

ONE-ON-ONE INTERVIEW ABOUT DR. KAKU’S NEW BESTSELLER

Click to Watch Interview

Fans of Michio Kaku and Jon Stewart came together on February 25th, 2014 when Dr. Kaku appeared on Comedy Central‘s The Daily Show with Jon Stewart to kick off the launch of his new book, THE FUTURE OF THE MIND.

Released on the day of the broadcast, Kaku’s new book debuted as an instant NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER hitting the #1 spot on March 16th.

Did you miss the show? Want to see it again? WATCH NOW!

Click to watch: the interview only or the full episode.

Share